2017-18 transitional kindergarten and kindergarten registration will begin Monday, January 30th, 9:00 a.m.-3:00 p.m., at all elementary schools within Paradise Unified School District. Parents should register their children at the school in their attendance area. Registration is not available online; registration packets can be picked up at each elementary school office.
Parents and Guardians:
Please bring the following items when you return the enrollment packet to register:
- Proof of up-to-date immunizations
- Proof of child’s age (birth certificate, passport, military ID, hospital birth record, adoption record or baptismal certificate)
Children entering transitional kindergarten (TK) during the upcoming 2017-18 school year must have their fifth birthday between September 2 and December 2, 2017 (inclusive). Children entering kindergarten must be five years old on or before September 1, 2017.
Click here for transitional kindergarten frequently asked questions.
Click here for kindergarten frequently asked questions.
Students admitted at ages 4-6 years need these immunizations:
A pre-kindergarten physical by a physician is also recommended and will satisfy the state’s requirement for a physical examination within 18 months prior to entering first grade.
Children entering public school for the first time, in transitional kindergarten, kindergarten or first grade, must show proof of a dental examination by a licensed dental professional by May 31st of the first school year. Oral health evaluations with documentation that occurred within the 12 months prior to school entry also meet this requirement.
A child is eligible for TK if they have their fifth birthday between September 2 and December 2, 2017 (inclusive) and each school year thereafter (EC 48000[c]).
At PUSD, transitional kindergarten (TK) is a full day, year long kindergarten program that uses a distinct TK curriculum that is age and developmentally appropriate. Senate Bill (SB) 858 establishes the intent that TK curriculum be aligned to the California Preschool Learning Foundations and California Preschool Curriculum Frameworks developed by the CDE.
California State law says that children who turn 5 years of age on or before September 1, 2016 and each school year thereafter, are eligible for enrollment in Kindergarten and may be registered at the school of their attendance area. Since school is mandatory for six year old students, parents and guardians of six year old students must enroll their children in school (Education Code Section 48200). Admission of age-eligible children must occur at the beginning of the school year or whenever the students move into the school district.
Continuance is defined as more than one school year in kindergarten. EC Section 48011 requires a child who has completed a year of kindergarten to be promoted to first grade, unless the parent or guardian and the district agree that the child may continue in kindergarten not more than one additional school year.
A parent/guardian who agrees their child is to continue in kindergarten must sign the Kindergarten Continuance Form.
California law requires a child to be six years old on or before September 1st of each school year to be legally eligible for first grade EC Section 48010.
A child who was legally enrolled in an out-of-state kindergarten for one school year (using that state's requirements), but who does not meet California age eligibility for first grade, may, with parental consent, be enrolled by the district in first grade (EC Section 48011).
A child who was not age-eligible for kindergarten (that is, the child turned five after September 1 in the 2016-17 school year or thereafter) and who attended a California private school kindergarten for a year is viewed by the CDE as not legally enrolled in kindergarten, pursuant to EC Section 48000 requirements. Therefore, this child, upon enrollment in public school, is enrolled in kindergarten, assessed, and may (but is not required to) be immediately promoted to first grade if the child meets the following State Board of Education criteria, pursuant to Title 5, Section 200:
- The child is at least five years of age.
- The child has attended a public school kindergarten for a long enough time to enable school personnel to evaluate the child's ability.
- The child is in the upper 5 percent of the child's age group in terms of general mental ability.
- The physical development and social maturity of the child are consistent with the child's advanced mental ability.
- The parent or guardian has filed a written statement with the district that approves placement in first grade.
A statement, signed by the district and parent/guardian, is placed in the official school records for these five-year-olds who have been advanced to first grade (EC Section 48011). This action prevents a subsequent audit exception for first grade placement of an age-ineligible student.