skip to main content

COVID-19

WHAT TO EXPECT
Top of Page

Safety Measures for K-12 Schools from CDPH (Updated 3/12/2022)

  • Masks
    • Masks are now optional for all K-12 students and staff.
    • No person can be prevented from wearing a mask as a condition of participation in an activity or entry into a school, unless wearing a mask would pose a safety hazard (e.g., watersports).
    • CDPH strongly recommends that all persons (e.g., students and staff) wear masks in K-12 indoor settings, with consideration of exemptions per CDPH face mask guidance.
    • Persons exempted from wearing a face covering due to a medical condition are strongly recommended to wear a non-restrictive alternative, such as a face shield with a drape on the bottom edge, as long as their condition permits it.
    • Schools must develop and implement local protocols to provide a mask to students who inadvertently fail to bring a face covering to school and desire to use one.
    • Public schools should be aware of the requirements in AB 130 (Chapter 44 of the Statutes of 2021) to offer independent study programs for the 2021-22 school year.
    • In situations where use of masks is challenging due to pedagogical or developmental reasons, (e.g., communicating or assisting young children or those with special needs), a face shield with a drape (per CDPH guidelines) (PDF) may be considered instead of a mask while in the classroom.
  • Recommendations for staying home when sick and getting tested:
    • Follow the strategy for Staying Home when Sick and Getting Tested from the CDC.
    • Get tested for COVID-19 when symptoms are consistent with COVID-19.
    • Advise staff members and students with symptoms of COVID-19 infection not to return for in-person instruction until they have met CDPH criteria to return to school for those with symptoms:
      • At least 24 hours have passed since resolution of fever without the use of fever-reducing medications; AND
      • Other symptoms are improving; AND
      • They have a negative test for SARS-CoV-2, OR a healthcare provider has provided documentation that the symptoms are typical of their underlying chronic condition (e.g., allergies or asthma) OR a healthcare provider has confirmed an alternative named diagnosis (e.g., Streptococcal pharyngitis, Coxsackie virus), OR at least 10 days have passed since symptom onset.
      • If the student or staff member tests positive for SARS-CoV-2, follow the guidance for isolation in Section #10 below.
  • Screening testing recommendations:
  • Case reporting, contact tracing and investigation
    • Per AB 86 (2021) and California Code Title 17, section 2500, schools are required to report COVID-19 cases to the local public health department.
    • Schools or LEAs should have a COVID-19 liaison to assist the local health department with activities related to COVID-19.
  • Isolation recommendations

COVID-19 Information
Top of Page

COVID-19 is a respiratory illness caused by a novel virus that has been spreading worldwide. Community-acquired cases have now been confirmed in California. We are gaining more understanding of COVID-19’s epidemiology, clinical course, immunogenicity, and other factors as time progresses, and the situation is changing daily. CDPH is in the process of monitoring COVID-19, conducting testing with local and federal partners, and providing guidance and resources to prevent, detect and respond to the occurrence of COVID-19 cases in California.
 

The Butte County Public Health Department shared that residents can call 2-1-1 or text your zip code to 898211 for COVID-19 information and updates.